in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-3-02 // 10.52 am

the story of your life across the ceiling

NP: R.E.M. - "Reveal"

Had to get up early this morning, alarm set and everything. Which is never welcome on the weekends. I rely on my Saturday and Sunday mornings to recharge from the working week. And I didn't even get that much sleep last night. But I tell you what, I would gladly give up sleep altogether to have more long evenings like last night talking with Erin. She's just excellent. She can call me in the middle of the night and wake me up if she wants, that's how cool she is.

So, my car... Took it to my dad's friend's yesterday, he does mechanical work in his spare time. Figured out I had a bad bearing in the right front area. So this morning, went to the auto parts store, got the new part, and came back to have it put on. So now the car is in good shape again, though I do have to go here in a few minutes to Wal-Mart or somewhere to get a new set of front tires. The front right one associated with the bad bearing was nearly bald. A bit dangerous, eh?

Ryan's coming by later and we'll be heading out to the middle of nowhere. Summerfield, to be precise. I mean, you might think I live in a little village, but this one takes the cake. Can't have more than one or two hundred people there. It's not particularly close to anything, sort of off US Route 50 halfway to Carlyle. But it's so worth the drive, because once there you can go to Mike's Place, home to the World's Tastiest Pizza Ever. It's so good...you wonder how pizza made in a little oven behind a country village tavern counter can taste so incredible. I don't have an answer to the question...I just eat it. Mmmm.

Time to get moving, I suppose. Keep your fingers crossed I don't run off into a ditch driving to the store with that silly spare doughnut tire on.

then / now