in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-9-04 // 9.19 pm

the devil punched down to the monkeys

NP: Matt Good Band - "Beautiful Midnight"

It's very good for the soul to sometimes just sit in your living room between the speakers of the stereo and listen. Active listening. I know, who has time in their adult life for that, etc. But still. Find the time. I have to now and then.

I can't tell you how many times I listened to this album between fall 2000 and winter 2001. It has to number in the hundreds. It was certainly in my minidisc walkman for countless walks to and from class, work, the library, the shops, the river. In a way, the album is kind of the maturation of and a big 'fuck you' to teenage angst. It's such a tightly wound world of paranoia, tragic romanticism, and that very particular feeling that a long, lonely, confused night can bring. I dunno, really, I just know that I loved it then and I still love it, even if I'm in a completely different place (physically and emotionally) now than I was 3 1/2 - 4 years ago.

Long day at work, kind of tiring, though that's mostly just due to staring at a computer screen for 8 hours and spending 2 additional hours in neverending meetings. But it's OK, it wasn't stressful, just tedious after a while. I'm kind of tired, which can be attributed to the fact that I've been getting up early this week to put in the extra hours to make up for the Friday I'm taking off, but it's OK.

I'm finally getting around to reading the February issue of Q. I'm sorry, I just don't give a rat's ass about the Darkness. I don't care how many people tell me that "they really do love the sort of music they play, it's not a joke!", I still don't have to like crap cartoon metal. Bleargh. Dido seems very sensible from her Cash for Questions, I rather liked that for some reason.

Alright, once Mr. Good takes me through the homestretch of 5:00am and sunup, it's time to head to the kitchen to cook spaghetti and meatballs.

then / now