in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-11-04 // 10.42 am

it's not important for you to know my name

NP: The Jam - "Sound Affects"

Thursday morning, my last day at work for the week. Cramming a 40+ hour work week into four days is rather tiring, but I do enjoy the long weekend. Anyway, it's turning out to be a boring morning here. Work's been very on and off lately, as in work for two or three hours then sit idle for a few hours before more pops up. It's always this way at the very start of new projects, but oh well.

Ryan S, Jeff, and Aaron came by last night for Magic week -- first one in several weeks. We were fairly boisterous for a weekday in an apartment, but hey, it's only once in a while. I drank more beers than I meant to, but again, it's alright now and then. I think at one point, Jeff (the only one of us not in a long term relationship -- he's more into the singles scene and being a 'player') blithely compared marital-style fidelity to eating the same breakfast cereal every day for the rest of your life. I commented that all you have to do is be certain to pick the best brand in the first place, and then what's the problem?

Last week there was no creamer in the break room at work. This week, there are five bottles. What?

Erin's going with Teresa to Louisville Friday/Saturday for a concert which leaves me on my own for a bit under two days. I hadn't made any plans, just figured on enjoying doing whatever popped into my head. Steve called last night saying that he and his wife were going to be in St. Louis over the weekend staying at her parents' house (they'll be out of town) and asked if I wanted to pop up to hang out for a while,. I think Marc and Danielle will be there, too...it's always good to see friends. Anyway, that will likely occupy my Friday night. Otherwise, I plan on just being a lazy fake bachelor.

I'm meeting my mom for dinner tonight after work, we're going to the Olive Garden, I think. It'll be nice, I haven't done anything with just her for a while now, and I know she really gets a kick out of this sort of stuff. Plus, I haven't eaten Italian (even if it's chain store Italian like the Garden) for ages and I'm really in the mood for it. So yes indeed.

I have to take an analysis paper I wrote through some sort of review board this afternoon, plus I have a low-key meeting with my manager after that. Otherwise, I honestly don't know what I'm going to do with the rest of my working day unless my tech lead gives me another list of things to research like he did yesterday. Hrm.

Can I get a what-what?

then / now