in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-11-02 // 9.19 pm

her wet hair hugged her body like a long lost friend

NP: Marillion - "Afraid of Sunlight"

I did not want to get out of bed this morning. Not that I was particularly tired -- I'd gotten a full night's sleep. But it was Monday morning. And the weekend was so good. Being with Erin was great. I just didn't want to rejoin the working world. I didn't want to sit in traffic, I didn't want to sit at that desk. Oh well...gotta do what you gotta do.

Though there was an email from Erin in my inbox, waiting for me when I got to the office. She totally keeps me sane there. Between the emails in the morning and the phone call before she left work, it's enough to ward off the general crap that comes my way in a typical work day.

Speaking of work...today, late morning, the site manager gathered up all the engineers and brought us into one of the conference rooms. She started off with something like "I'm not sure if any of you have heard yet...", which made me wonder something like "are we all getting fired?" But it turns out a guy from the Virginia office whom we've all worked with was found dead at his home this morning. He was like 31 years old and he had a wife and three children. And this morning, they found his body. Don't know the cause yet, but it looks like something sudden and unexpected, like a heart attack or stroke. I just thought it was such a damn shame...such a tragedy that someone that young and vital had to die like that. It wasn't a good day at the office. And on top of that, this afternoon, a big group of my coworkers were just hanging out in the lab, laughing, acting like nothing had happened. Come on, a man is dead...show some respect. I don't know about people sometimes. Nobody at my office seems to have any soul.

But there's the bad, and then there's the good. Things with Erin are good. No, they're great actually. She lights me up like a Christmas tree. She seems to bring out every good feeling and positive outlook that's been lying dormant inside of me. I anticipate every evening phone call, every drive into the city to take her out. I look forward to every look into her eyes, every time I put my arm around her, every knowing smile she gives me. She's just fantastic. I really wish there was another superlative I could use, one that's bigger than fantastic or wonderful or amazing or incredible. Because Erin deserves that word.

Alright, there's Chinese food in my belly, and I'm mostly caught up on correspondence...so I suppose it's time to finish doing paperwork. Taxes and bills and whatnot...ugh. What a life.

then / now