in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-14-02 // 10.17 am

oh you've got green eyes, oh you've got blue eyes, oh you've got grey eyes

There's work to be done here, but it's just one of those mornings where I can't quite find my motivation. But I'm sure it'll hit me sooner or later.

I've drank a lot of coffee so far this morning. I'm going to be extremely wired here in a bit -- kind of like what I imagine it's like to be a hummingbird.

My great uncle Gerry died a few days ago. The wake is this evening, so I'm going to that. He'd been quite ill the past few years, so I suppose this wasn't a huge, unexpected surprise. But still, it's so sad to see him go. Not like we were extremly close, but it's going to be so strange not to have him there at my grandparents' house every Christmas afternoon. I'll remember his kindness, his bushy mustache, and his big, wide smile.

Ryan's been fighting with his girlfriend off and on for about a week now. He said they pretty much patched things up last night, but he still sounded pretty rough. We might end up going for a late bite to eat or something tonight, so I guess I'll find out more if and when that happens.

Work is busy as ever. Things are progressing nicely, though it seems that I'm either bogged down with insane little errors (which consume a lot of debugging time), or just when I think I've made all the modifications that can be made to one procedure, the tech lead will tell me that the customer wants even more functionality, etc. So yeah...lots to do. I'll be glad when it's the weekend.

Things with Erin couldn't be better. Seriously, every time I think she couldn't possibly be more wonderful, she says or does something which just makes me go "wow". She made me a mix tape the other day...the case and the cassette itself are covered in glitter. There was no tracklisting, just a sheet of notebook paper with quotes from all of the songs on the tape, sort of joined together into one continuous piece of prose. I thought that was just about the sweetest, coolest thing I've ever seen. And of course, the tape rocks because she has impeccable taste in music. Every time we're together, I just never want to let her go. I think that's what it comes down to.

OK, I think I've found my motivation now. Let's see if I can get all this stuff done by the end of the day.

then / now