in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-15-04 // 11.06 am

we've got some time to kill, and you know I love this time of year

NP: Josh Rouse - "Under Cold Blue Stars"

I'd forgotten what an underrated, emotionally resonant album this is.

Back at work after my three day weekend. Not much to do so far this morning, but I'm sure that'll change soon enough. If nothing else, there's a status meeting tomorrow morning that should send the tasks a'flying.

I'm somewhat tired at the moment, and that's after a cup and a half of coffee. It's our damn new upstairs neighbors, they're so loud. And it's not loud of the "thudding music at all hours" variety that I normally seem to attract, but more of the "stomp around endlessly" type. It almost never fails that they wake me up half an hour or more before my alarm is set to go off. And don't even get me started on that damn puppy they have. It's not the dog's fault, it doesn't know any different. But still, these people keep it and it whines and it yowls and it barks. At all hours. The heating ducts in the bathroom and bedroom just seem to amplify the noise. Ugh. Anyway, I've taken to wearing earplugs every night now, which is something I'd previously only needed to do on weekend nights when we had the windows open. In any case, I haven't slept terribly well the past three nights, and I'm feeling a bit worn because of it.

This would be a good week to be on spring break, I think. Not that I'm whining, mind you. Not really, anyway. No spring break in the working world is balanced out by the beauty of paid vacation. So it's just a different kind of pleasure, kind of like being able to take spring break whenever you want. Though I'm certain that there will always be a little part of me that will crave a week off in the middle of March.

I haven't frolfed in ages. I'll have to see if I can wrangle up a game next time I visit Ryan H.

I still need to do my state taxes. It's a much bigger deal than it should be since I work in Illinois but live in Missouri. So I have to fill out returns for both states, including lengthy and obscure forms for "nonresident income" and whatnot. Though I think I will end up getting a credit in Missouri, since I didn't actually make a dime in the state. I'm sure I'll owe some small sum to Illinois, that's how it usually turns out.

I'm doing my usual NCAA tourney bracket thing, I filled out the pairings this morning. I normally do fairly well, about in the 65th percentile or so. That's not bad at all. Anyway, if anyone wants to get in, the main pick site is here, and I have a group set up here.

I don't really have anything else to say.

then / now