in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-16-04 // 9.39 pm

hands on the wheel, let the golden age begin

NP: various Beck related things. Oddly enough, I never really cared for him in his "Mellow Gold"/"Odelay" phase, though I can't get enough of "Mutations", "Midnite Vultures", and "Sea Change".

Four nights in a row not sleeping terribly well. The new upstairs neighbors must die. They start stomping at 4 in the morning and don't stop till I walk out the door for work. The dog also will not shut up. Ugh. I was so frazzled tired this morning at my desk it was ridiculous. You know that sort of dry-eyed, world-moving-in-slow-motion feel when you're not sleeping right? That's the one. It took two huge cups of coffee to get me through my morning meetings.

Work is being work, that's the best way to describe it right now. There's this permeating air of tension and weirdness going on that I don't like at all. Mostly it's just due to the fact that we've been made part of three different parts of the company in the last six months and with each change comes new corporate bullshit to do that filters down through the ranks. My managers get it from their managers and I get it from mine. It's just that the ways we do things are always changing, either creating tons of needless bureaucracy or eliminating checks that were in place for a reason. So everyone is unsettled and out of routine. There are other things, too, such as the chief engineers getting pulled away and quarantined to finish this high-priority project, and apparently if they're stressed out the rest of us have to be, too. Plus there's all sorts of potential new business flying around that the site managers are trying to latch onto. Makes for a lot of higher-ups whispering in the halls and having day-long closed door meetings. I dunno, it's just a weird atmosphere right now. But oh well, I have a new, interesting project to work on, can't complain too much.

Upstairs neighbors running track directly above me? Rustling cattle? Installing and using a bowling alley? Make it stop!

Aaron wants me to go with him to this Pro Tour qualifier on Saturday, but it's all the way out in St. Charles and starts at 9 in the morning and will likely last for 12 or so hours. I don't know if I have the patience to spend what's supposed to be a supremely nice day cataloguing sealed decks and drafting with a large portion of the greater St. Louis geek community. I may have to pass on this one...the kitchen table will always be more my style.

I'm cooking fettucine alfredo tonight, from scratch. Probably throw some broccoli and mushrooms in there, and grill up some garlic toast, too. Can't wait for Erin to get home here in a bit, both so we can eat and so we can visit. Today's been one of those days where we get to spend approximately two hours awake in each other's company & I tend to savor those hours.

Nothing else to say so it's back to the piles of books that need reading.

then / now