in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-17-02 // 12.31 pm

why go when you could stay awhile?

NP: Faithless - "Sunday 8pm"

I woke up yesterday feeling pretty good. Though the longer I sat here at my computer, the more my stomach started to hurt. I thought maybe it was gas or indigestion or something, but all the medicine I took to try to combat it did absolutley nothing. But I had things to do in the afternoon, so I tried to just go ahead with my day. That's usually how I am if I'm feeling ill, I just work through it. So I took a shower, but when I got out, I was a cowering, shivering mess. So instead of getting dressed, I just laid there on my bed in my bathrobe, curled up with a little space heater blowing on me. I eventually forced myself to get dressed, thinking that would at least make me feel well enough to move outside my bedroom. Nope -- no luck there. Took my temperature and I was running 101. So it was at that point (well, after an hour or so of falling in and out of sleep) that I called around and cancelled the evening's plans. Which I felt terrible about, incidentally. Despite my warnings that I'd infect her with whatever it is I had, Erin came over to take care of me. Apparently the key to getting better is chocolate ice cream, taking the Cosmopolitan magazine quiz, and watching "High Fidelity". All of which were quite helpful -- though to be honest, having her there was the best remedy of all. I eventually drifted off whilst watching the movie. Fell asleep again later in the evening just watching TV. So around 11.30 or so I just gave up and turned off the lights. Ended up sleeping for 11 hours...which is unheard of for me, but I suppose I needed it.

So yeah, I'm feeling much better this morning. Well, there's still a bit of lingering out-of-sorts feeling, but mostly I'm OK. I have a semblance of an appetite again, and I don't have chills or dizziness. So that's a plus. It's a tentative kind of feeling better, you know? It's better than feeling worse, anyway.

Plans to head over to see Erin this evening...I can't wait. Until then, it'll probably just be me sitting around the house doing nothing in particular. May as well not push things, eh?

then / now