in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-26-04 // 11.27 am

staring down from this high window

NP: Marillion - "Unplugged At The Walls"

I'm trying to sate my growing impatience in waiting for the new album. The sound clips, new single on foreign radio webcasts, and reports from distant listening parties are tantalizing. I suppose in the meantime I could go out and do the street team stuff I got myself into. Hanging flyposters and passing out stickers & postcards to record shops and whatnot...why not? In the meantime, get yourself a free CD. Everyone likes free stuff, don't they?

Dark, rainy, tropical spring morning. In typical feast or famine style, there's precious little to do at work today. I feel like I should just be sitting in a cafe instead.

I'm currently reading Ian Jack's "Before The Oil Ran Out". It's a fairly obscure collection of essays on Britain and its dependencies in the years 1977-86 -- I actually had to buy it used & out of print off Amazon's UK marketplace. Anyway, much of Jack's writing is stunning. The opening essay detailing his father's life and his childhood in postwar lowland Scotland is vivid and affecting enough to make your heart swell up. The rest of the essays I've gotten through at this point are similarly well done...not quite so dramtic, more extroverted than the opener, but impressively observational and subtly funny. It's certainly been a good read for humid spring evenings.

Today is one of those days where my voice is cooperating and I can sing like I know I'm capable of. I tried it last night (while listening to "Brave" for the first time in what has to be over a year) and it was terrible, I couldn't hit any notes and my throat felt like it had been shredded. Today feels more fluid, though, more laid back. Of course, I'm going on about this as though I have something to sing for, instead of just me singing to myself. One day I'd like to sing in public again, I really haven't since I was a kid. Though these days I don't think there'd be an audience. I'm not a songwriter, and I don't even play an instrument to the point where I could do an open mic night with some covers. Oh well, I'm my own best audience anyway.

"The College Dropout" is still gold, although I'm becoming more pleased with my decision to just buy it track-by-track off iTunes instead of shelling out for the physical album. It's just too inconsistent to make that plunge, you know? Too many skits (I never did understand the skit phenomenon on rap albums), and some of the jokier songs are just too bad to endure. I'm by no means steeped in the hip-hop universe, but I know what I like when I hear it.

I took a few new photos yesterday evening. Nothing too great, though. I really need both a better camera and some fresh ideas. Actually, I have a list of ideas but I never seem to get around to making the specific treks required to get the shots. Anyway, my daily routine isn't condusive to just capturing my environment. I drive 30 miles to work, I sit in a cube all day, I drive 30 miles home. I feel like I've exhausted all of the interesting photographic possibilities within walking distance (a 2-3 mile radius, for the most part) of the apartment. I dunno, there are just so many people out there on Fotolog taking vibrant, exciting, truly interesting photos. Mine feel very pedestrian (no pun intended). Sometimes I feel like I have this creative potential but also that I truly have no creative skills. That makes no sense, does it?

I'm missing Erin this morning. I wish I could've stayed this morning...I lingered before heading to work, laying in bed holding her close before getting up so as to not wake her up with my shifting around. Hopefully tomorrow morning brings a chance for some lie-in time.

I just realized that I'm starving. Good thing that lunchtime seems to have gotten here super quickly today.

then / now