in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-28-04 // 7.17 pm

a touch of seersucker with an open neck

NP: The Who - "Quadrophenia"

One of the best records ever made, this. So, so many perfect moments, but I think the one-two punch of 5:15/Sea And Sand are the most sublime. Does the line "I'm wet and I'm cold, but thank god I ain't old" not ring with pure essence of teenage foolishness and bravado?

Went to my parents' house yesterday afternoon for a barbecue in honor of my dad's and my grandpa's birthdays. I saw a lot of family that I haven't seen since Christmas and it was actually quite enjoyable as opposed to the kind of stilted, wishing for things to end thing that gatherings with that side of the family usually are with me. But yeah, it was cool, I talked with both sets of grandparents (although my mom's side grandma couldn't make it due to her foot), some cousins, my sister & her boyfriend, etc. Ate BBQ chicken out on the back deck under the lone nice afternoon of the week, drank a few beers, chilled out. Erin went to the Ben Kweller/Death Cab for Cutie show with Julie & I didn't do much for the rest of the night, just kind of puttered about the apartment, but it was cool.

Gray, dreary springtime Sunday today. Erin's off at work but will be home in a few hours, I'll probably start dinner here before too long. I haven't done that much today, really. Walked to the supermarket this morning and bought some groceries; hung out with Erin briefly before she had to go to work; did the dishes & washed the kitchen floor; drank several cups of coffee and ate a bowl of tomato soup for lunch; talked to my parents on the phone for a few minutes; played some Magic online; read more of my Ian Jack book; watched the Blues/Blackhawks game; filled my car up with some gas; watched the afternoon downpours.

I can't believe there's an all-hands meeting at work tomorrow at 8 o'clock sharp. I mean, I normally get in around then anyway, but now I don't even have the option of taking my time. Stupid all-hands meeting...it's just going to be the same old administrative level boredom, along with the site manager being very vague on the prospect of new business. Maybe this time some of the negotiations will be more concrete and she'll have something substantial to say. One can dream, in any case.

Nowt much else going on at the moment, so it's back to my book. Adios.

then / now