in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-1-04 // 6.10 pm

I burned my beatles records 'cause she hated number 9

NP: New Radicals - "Maybe You've Been Brainwashed Too"

I've also listened to Bad Religion "The Gray Race" and Wilco "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot" this afternoon.

Home sick today, I think I've come down with a touch of the flu. Nothing of the incapacitating variety, thankfully, but enough to make me constantly tired and my stomach to be intermittently distressed. In any case, I've felt rather terrible ever since Monday morning, and yesterday at lunchtime I just took the rest of the day off work and came home. In all honesty, I probably could have made it in today, though I'd have been useless. So I figure this is for the best.

Anyway, it's been a bit boring today all cooped up in the apartment. Erin was home for a while this afternoon so we hung out and that was quite nice, but otherwise I'd just as soon be healthy and just coming home from work, you know? So yeah, I did the dishes and the laundry, took a few pictures on my brief jaunt to get Erin a sandwich for lunch (she could've gotten it, of course, but I just had to get outside for a few minutes), and otherwise have been listening to music (and the upstairs neighbors be utterly loud and obnoxious), and finally cracking into the excellent Monty Python autobiography that Erin got me for Christmas. Hopefully by tomorrow I'm feeling more like my usual self.

Whole bunch of people came over for Magic last night, which was cool. Ryan S came by with J.R. and Jess in tow (great to see both of 'em, great to sort of rekindle old friendships), and Aaron finally showed up later after we couldn't figure out where he'd gotten off to. Erin was playing hooky from her night class, as well, which was also fun. So yeah, we ordered pizza & played cards, joked & talked, etc. Good night, even though I was rather exhausted. I actually thought about cancelling earlier in the day, but I didn't think it was fair to everyone to just drop out at the last moment. Plus, I really did want to hang out!

It seems that Steve will be moving to St. Louis in June, which makes me very happy indeed. His wife Sarah just got a job with the zoo (she has a degree in marine biology that she really hasn't been able to use much since graduation, sadly) so they'll be heading here once Steve's current teaching semester ends. Of course, he'll have to find a new job when they get here, but I'm sure he'll do fine, he has a masters degree and tenure at his current school. But yeah, it always makes me happy when college friends move closer, not further away. I mean, I know you can't hope to hold on to all of those friendships -- college is, after all, ultimately transitory -- but I still like to try. It's kind of sad, really. I don't talk to Jared that much anymore, and I'm sure it'll just get worse once he has to move to Utah or wherever to do his internship. And I'm certain one day Ryan H will just pack up and head to Vermont or something, which will make me very sad indeed. But anyway, I digress. Very good news to have someone heading closer not more distant.

Ugh, I still feel rather terrible at the moment. Perhaps I'll make a cup of tea and put on some socks and a bathrobe, that's a good sickie uniform. I'll dig deeper into the Pythons book and turn the Blues/Red Wings game on in a bit. Later gators, hopefully none of you are suffering from the springtime plague.

then / now