in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

3-28-05 // 9.41 pm

tall buildings shake, voices escape singing sad sad songs

NP: Wilco - "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot"

There's something psychologically uplifting about the first day of a new season that truly feels like that season. While the vernal equinox was over a week ago, this time since then was mostly gray and cold. Jacket weather. Today was the antithesis, it was spring punching through the clouds. Blue skies and warm winds. The world just looked different when I walked out the door this morning. I had a lightness in my step on my lunchtime walk. Upon arriving home, I threw every window in the apartment open, I put on shorts and I admired the angle of the sun on the blanket on the bed, on the bedroom carpet and on the stone of the windowsills. I like the feeling of having my blood stirred...some days I feel like I'm pretty far removed from having something to do that to me.

I am utterly fucking incapable of articulating myself tonight and it's pissing me off. I'm just going to give up.

then / now