in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-6-04 // 12.48 pm

halfway to hell and beyond

NP: Crowded House - "Temple Of Low Men"

The part of my brain that controls my ability to write seems to have gone dormant the past few days. I keep starting entries and then trashing them because they come out sounding like they were written by a five year old. In any case, a recap.

Friday: Still felt fairly crappy, though I got a bit better by afternoon. Took a walk in the park, then the long way home via East St. Louis and Washington Ave/Grand. Ate dinner with Erin though I was tired/vaguely ill so I went to bed a bit early for a Friday.

Saturday: Drank coffee, watched Newcastle/Everton, walked up to the bank to make a deposit. Had lunch outdoors on the Loop at Tomatillo with Erin before she had to go to work. Dropped her off and then went to the fancy-pants mall down the road for yet more iPod maintenance drama. Got the iPod fixed (for free this time!) & then escaped the mall as they were holding some sort of hip-hop fashion show on the lower level. Spent the rest of the afternoon watching hockey, messing around with the iPod & reading. Picked up Erin at night and we went over to Vespers in Belleville for Ryan S's girlfriend Angie's birthday. Good times, I drank a few beers and somehow came in first place in laser tag.

Sunday: Was woken up rather early by a car alarm going off three separate times within a 45 minute span. Went for a long wander through south city, taking a lot of (starting here) pictures in the process. Went to Erin's grandparents' place for dinner and visiting in the evening.

Monday: Fairly boring day at work. I used flex time to leave around 3 o'clock so Erin and I could watch the Cardinals' opening day game & eat chili dogs. It was a great idea and a wonderfully warm spring afternoon to do it on. Not much the rest of the evening, though I did go for a satisfying walk at one point.

I'm actually feeling very productive today, I've made tons of headway on getting the detailed design done on my part of my project. Had two meetings but even those felt useful not annoyances. I do have some compliance training thing in a little bit, but it's alright. Going for a haircut tonight after work & then I'm sure I'll just clean up the apartment a bit when I get home.

This must've been agonizingly boring but I haven't written for days so I figured I'd catch up. Plus, work has me in a very factual, utilitarian mode at the moment so this probably reflects that. Oh well.

then / now