in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-2-02 // 5.56 pm

we go to the beach on the northern line

NP: Marillion - "Fallout"

Found this waiting for me when I got home today, it's not bad. First disc isn't that exciting, just full demos of the "Radiation" album proper. Some great alternate versions and previously unheard musical ideas on the second disc, though. I really love these making of sorts of deals the band puts out...since they write their songs by jamming in-studio, it makes sense that there'd be tons of great stuff in the archives that nobody's ever heard. But yeah, enough musical geekery for one evening...

In contrast with last week, there's almost nothing going on at work at the moment. I mean, there's some stuff to do, mostly writing documentation. But there's also a lot of down time. A break is OK, but after a while it just makes the days drag on and on and on.

I'm a bit tired at the moment. Haven't had much sleep the past couple of nights. Which is fine, since I've been with Erin. I shouldn't even complain, really, she's even more exhausted than I am what with her family stuff over the weekend. But yeah, tonight is a stay in and rest sort of night for both of us. Gotta recharge our batteries so we don't fall asleep at work or when we're out later in the week. I'm taking Thursday afternoon off, I have a few errands to run that can't be taken care of at any other time. So once I'm done there, Erin's gonna escape work a bit early, and we're going to enjoy some sunlight for a change. I'm really looking forward to that.

Erin met Ryan last night, the three of us shot pool and caught a bite to eat. Things went well there, which I was glad about...what with last Friday night and all.

She and I ended up dozing off for a bit last night, downstairs on the couch. I wish we could've stayed there all night, not having to worry about one or the other driving home, what hour it is, if there's work the next day. It's just that when I have my arms wrapped around her and she has hers around me, I can't imagine anywhere else I'd rather be. The quiet is so peaceful, only broken by the occasional sigh or whisper. I want to capture those moments and keep them forever.

then / now