in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-5-02 // 10.01 am

there's a row going on down near slough

I'm ready for the weekend. There's still most of a work day ahead of me, but I just can't be bothered. I'm tired and just full of that "blah, it's the end of the week" type feeling. No motivation today. Which isn't helped by the fact that there's extremely little to do at the moment. I did finish up my work for the other project I was working on -- all my code and test plans passed through the readiness review without a hitch. Which was a good feeling, considering how hard I worked on this the past couple of weeks.

I got an email at work the other day reminding me of the upcoming "bring your child to work day". They so don't screen who they send these things to, do they?

I spent most of my afternoon off yesterday running boring, horrible errands. Taking everything out of my pockets and being scanned with a metal detector at the county courthouse just so I could finally go through a doorway and pay my speeding ticket? Tons of fun. Standing around at the bank, waiting in line having to listen to a Muzak version of a Billy Joel song? Even more fun. Filling out forms at the post office whilst standing in line waiting for some old guy to finish complaining about his mail service? The most fun of all. Ick. At least it was a great afternoon out, it was nice walking around downtown Belleville in the sun, just being somewhere other than work on a weekday afternoon.

Spent the evening with Erin. There have been a lot of almost unbelievably perfect moments since I've known her, but last night, just laying there talking, holding her close, relaxing and listening to records was completely amazing. I didn't want to get up, and I didn't want to let her go. That's a common theme, I think...being with her is instantly preferrable to any other situation I could possibly dream up.

Now I need more coffee. Bring on the weekend.

then / now