in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-6-03 // 12.10 pm

"rock n roll was not the work of the devil"

Now watching: last night's baseball highlights

This is going to be one of those days where it rains the entire time. And it's a cold rain, too. I was spoiled by that summery mini-heat wave we had last week.

I don't know what's worse about the jump to daylight savings time, the fact that you wake up and suddenly it's an hour later than your body thinks it is, or that you then have to go around the entire house and change clocks. The only aspect of the entire thing that I like is the fact that it'll stay light later now.

I'm trying to type this up and the cat keeps walking over and sitting down on my hands and crawling up my chest. It's cute but at the same time I just want to do this, you know?

My next door neighbors are the absolute worst I've ever had. I'm not saying I've had worse neighbors overall, but as far as next door (as opposed to upstairs or downstairs) ones go, they're horrid. Anyway, it's this guy and this woman, and they have a kid who's maybe two years old. So the guy has the loudest, shoutiest voice ever, and since we share a common wall in one place, it's ridiculously loud. The woman runs the vacuum at the weirdest hours, and their kid screams like a siren. Seriously. Last weekend, the kid let out this near-continuous howl that lasted from like 9am to 10pm. I'm not even exaggerating here. Thankfully they don't seem to like or care about music, so we don't have that to deal with. But overall, it sucks. I mean, all of our neighbors can be a bit loud sometimes, but I can deal with it. Hell, we're loud once in a while. But these next door neighbors are terrible.

I went down to the laundry room a few minutes ago, and there's a guy sitting out on the building's stoop area with one of those portable meat smoker things. I think I saw him carry a tray of BBQ away, but I'm not sure. Either way, you have to hand it to the guy's dedication to BBQ if he's out there on a day like this.

Oh, and there was this weird lady in the laundry room, I think she's the one who has a load in one washer and another in one of the dryers. In any case, she came into the laundry room and said something to me, but it mostly sounded like "wookagah!" I was somewhat freaked out, so I was glad that I was headed back up to the apartment at that point. I do have to go back down there in a few minutes, though -- hopefully she's gone now.

Had a great time hanging out with Ryan S last night. Went to the pub in Belleville, had some food and some drinks. Erin and I got our DDR on later, we totally kicked that teenager's ass. Later in the night we hung out with John, which was also a lot of fun. One of those nights where you don't realize how late it's getting, you know?

For now, I have a cup of tea brewing, and I'm trying to decide if I want to watch a movie, listen to records, channel surf TV, or what. Either way, I'm outta here.

then / now