in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-7-03 // 9.01 am

"name me six empiricist philosophers"

No music at this point. Right now I'm savoring the near silence here in the lab. It's that Monday morning thing where everyone else is late in crawling in to work.

Earlier this morning I had the worst cup of coffee ever. It was seriously dodgy. I think I'm more or less done with coffee for a while, though, actually. Well, I do drink a cup now and then, like at Denny's or at the coffee shop on South Grand, but as far as mornings go, as part of my routine? Nah, not anymore. For one thing it's getting to be too warm for that. Today it's not, but generally. So due to the warmth I switched to a morning soda, and on the weekends, I tend to just drink cups of tea. So there's caffeine intake, but it's dramatically lowered. Actually, I think I went through a bout of caffeine withdrawal the other week. I had a day and a half where I was irritable, tired, and extremely headachey. I mean, that could've been because of the weather or something else, but I think it was the withdrawal. Which is funny, I don't think that's ever happened to me before. Well, maybe once, when Erin and I moved in together and we stopped having to do all the late night driving and whatnot. I mean, I still drank coffee then, but it wasn't at the insane levels it had been prior.

The way Monday feels is the counter to the way Friday feels. Friday is all about up energy and anticipation. Monday is about coming down from the time off and about waking up when you don't want to. I didn't want to get up at all this morning. If I had my way, I'd stay in bed all day, Erin curled up against me. I dunno, I wasn't trying to be clingy or annoying, but I seriously just could not stop kissing and holding her this morning. I'd have paid a million dollars to have stayed right there. I need to be productive at some point today, but if my calculations are correct, I can probably get away with only being partially productive. Today is totally one of those days where I would kill to be able to work from home.

On my drive in to work, right before I got on the on-ramp to the interstate I ended up behind a Saab Turbo with a metallic Grateful Dead badge on the back. What's up with that?

For some reason in the past couple of days I've seen a huge increase in the amount of spam I get. I mean, I've always received a ton, and I just filter it out to a garbage folder anyway, but still.

Today's weather forecast, via Channel 5's website: "Dizzle and fog early". Dizzle. Yes. Misspellings aside, I'm glad I'm not in Iowa or Wisconsin or northern Illinois right now. If it was snowing here in April, after all that warm weather, I'd be going insane right about now.

I have to get going now, otherwise I will be held without TRAIL!

then / now