in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-7-01 // 1.19 am

I believe this is heaven to no one else but me

NP: Sarah McLachlan - "Fumbling Towards Ecstasy"

It's April, which of course means the return of ridiculous humidity in this here river town. So a short while ago, the AC was turned on here in Chez Mike. It's really no secret -- I love air conditioning. I'd live in AC year-round if it was possible or necessary. Reminds me of that Who song: "I don't care about pollution, I'm an air conditioned gypsy". Well, actually I do care about pollution, but the AC part stands.

Tonight we made the trip over to C'dale and hung out with Jared. Hinge and I still hadn't seen his apartment, which is so crazy considering he moved in back in August. So we went there, saw his place & went to eat at Denny's. Top idea of the night: a new cop show that features Nostradamus in the modern days, with Denis Leary as his loose-cannon sidekick. Nostradamus would make vague, allegorical, easily misinterpreted prophecies relating to crimes, and they he and Leary would investigate & try to solve them. Well, it sounded good to us, anyway. So, we also went bowling. We think the lane we got was warped, as no-one bowled well, and the balls kept going all over the place for no apparent reason. Plus the ball return wouldn't return Jared's ball until like two frames after he bowled, only after I had also rolled. Hinge and I went with Jared to this nightclub on the strip, but it was so dead. The promise of sexy ladies to dance with was a false one. So instead we went on to Steak n Shake around midnight -- I had one of those cookies n cream shakes with the funky chocolate cookie wafer sticking out of the top. It was good. I felt a bit loopy & hyper by the time we were there -- I think I was so happy because it was Friday & that I was finally free from the week's hellish school stuff. So we drove back in the midnight hour, listening to Neil Finn on the car CD player. It was a good night.

I love the roundabout in Jonesboro, it's so cool. We need more of those here in the States. I also like the red English phonebox that sits in the little park thing on the inside of the roundabout. It completes the scene.

I've had this annoying little half-cough the past couple of days, I just can't seem to shake it. It's very annoying, is all.

Now it's time for me to get my tired ass to bed. Thank you very much & goodnight, you've been a beautiful audience.

then / now