in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-7-03 // 10.50 pm

"who goes to a job interview with a parrot?"

I'm watching the NCAA tourney championship game, and it's actually turning out to be an exciting game. Which is a nice change from most years. It's like how almost every year, the super bowl is hyped beyond belief and it almost always turns out to be a shitty blowout of a football game.

Just finished up a pot of chicken curry ramen. I've said it before, but that really is the greatest invention in years. Though I did discover while making the noodles that I'm nearly out of bomay spice. That won't do. Though now I have to figure out how to get a new packet. I suppose I could bug Dave and Steen to ship me some, but I know Dave is swamped at work and Steen has all the post-convention stuff to deal with. So maybe I'll try to find a stateside distributor. Either way, those spices are the best. I wouldn't cook a curry without it, as the sauce bases and pastes I find in the shops are flavorful but almost always not spicy enough.

You know, Jay Leno is not funny. Not even a little bit. I mean, I try to give him the benefit of the doubt, but he just comes off as goofy and pandering. Though I do still try to tune in every Monday for "Headlines".

I was out for a walk an hour or so ago, it was quite nice. It's cool but not cold out, which is about perfect for walking at this time of year. Anyway, while I was out, I got to thinking about license plates -- some of 'em are really terrible. My Missouri plate is OK, it's blue-green and not bad, though what exactly does "Show-Me State" mean? My old Illinois plates were weird. They introduced a new design with ugly colors and a silhouette of Lincoln's head. Though I suppose "Land of Lincoln" at least makes sense. Erin's friend Andy has Pennsylvania plates. First of all, what exactly is a "Keystone State"? Secondly, the Pennsylvania plates have the state's web address on 'em. So weird. I see plenty of other plates here in the city, too. The Kanas plates are kind of sad. They're just one big panorama of a wheat field. "Kansas: we've got wheat and that's all". I think really new plates from that state also have an image of the state capitol building behind the wheat, but still. Oh, and tonight I saw, of all things, an Idaho plate. The slogan says "Famous Potatoes". I don't really know much about Idahoan history, but surely something more noteworthy has happened in the state's history than tubers.

Ah, I've opened up one of the living room windows just a bit, and the cool air feels great coming in. The apartment gets a bit stuffy sometimes. Though I've always been big on fresh air, even if it is cold. Back in the day in the dorms and in my old apartment, I used to open the windows in the middle of winter all of the time.

Now I'm getting my relax on. I think it's a bit more TV for me and then it's off to join Erin in bed. Mmm. Can't wait to snuggle up next to her. So yes. Later gators.

then / now