in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-8-02 // 10.55 am

please don't drop me home, because I haven't got one anymore

Got in to work this morning and was immediately roped in by one of my higher-ups, asking me to do some work for him. So I get the documents together, start reading them, and get ready to make the code changes necessary. About an hour into this, he stops by and says "don't do this anymore, find somethine else to work on". So yeah... Work.

Four people had their last day here on Friday. There's a few open cubes and offices throughout the building now. I'm hoping that in the restructuring, I can get my own cube. I'm in one of those double-sized ones at the moment. My cube-mate is just fine, but I like having my own space. Not that I'm very hopeful about getting it, but a man can dream, can't he?

Erin and I went out for curry yesterday evening. It was brilliant...mmm, vindaloo. Erin seemed to like her tikka masala, which was cool considering almost nobody I know takes to this sort of thing. The only thing missing from the meal was a pint of draught Cobra. I don't know what it is about that beer but the yeast in it must've been genetically bred to brew the perfect accompaniment to Indian food. Shame I can't seem to find it in the States.

Last night at Denny's, I overheard some pretenious students talking about The Avalanches. I don't remember the whole conversation but I remember rolling my eyes at one guy with cosmetic glasses, spiky hair, and all-black clothing going on about how the song Frontier Psychiatrist was like the greatest thing he'd ever heard. His companions nodded sagely, and that's where I lost track of things.

Last night was an adventure.

I can't wait for tonight.

then / now