in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-13-01 // 1.28 am

I dream I'm in New York City some night

NP: Counting Crows - "VH1 Storytellers, 8/12/97"

I updated my profile since apparently now you can enter up to 30 favorite diaries. I added comments to most of the ones I read...so check it out and see if you like the comment that corresponds to yours. If not, eh, whatcha gonna do?

My car has a flat tire, I must've run over something this afternoon. Tomorrow morning I have to take it off & put on the ridiculous temporary tire. Then I have to go to a garage or something and get them to fix my regular tire. And I had to pay my licence renewal fee today. Yeah, I didn't need that $80. Stupid cars...I wish I lived somewhere that I didn't have to own a car. They're just more hassle than they're worth.

I'm currently up visiting my parents for the weekend, my sister's here too. At dinner, she asked ol' mom & dad if in a year or so, when she's eligible, if she could get an apartment off-campus like I did. They said they'd see when the time gets here, but one thing's for sure, that they want her to live "in a safe neighborhood". But apparently it's OK for their only son to live in the ghetto. I think it's funny, actually -- I like where I live, precisely because it's not some suburban wasteland on the outskirts of town. I'm down by the river, in the city -- it's a fine neighborhood & I like the people who inhabit it. Getting back to my dad, I think "safe" is code for "place where black people don't live". I think it's a ridiculous little point of view he has there...I guess it stems from the fact that he was born and raised in East St. Louis in the '50s-'70s, and well if you've been to ESTL lately...let's just say that if you need crack that's a good place to start looking. I dunno...I admire my father more than just about anyone on this planet, but it's just that little things he says like that get my goat. Yeah, the buildings on my block aren't pristine...but don't insinuate that it's an inferior or dangerous place to live just because of who lives there.

Now I should get some sleep. I hope I have a spectacular dream.

then / now