in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-15-01 // 12.46 am

please forgive me if I act a little strange

Went to U City this evening for the David Gray show. In a few words, it was incredible. It was positively life-affirming. It's kind of strange situation actually, 'cause a lot of his songs are rather sad or melancholy...but they lift you up anyway, you feel better because there's just so much energy in the air. About half of the time, I felt like I just needed someone to hug. It was torture standing there by myself for "This Year's Love" & "Please Forgive Me". Oh well. Cool point of the night: Gray covering Springsteen's "Mansion on the Hill" during the encore. Not so cool point of the night: he played every song off his new album except "Say Hello Wave Goodbye". I was rather annoyed, as it's one of my favorites. But again, oh well. It was a brilliant time...I need more nights like this.

then / now