in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-16-04 // 10.17 am

for a second of your life, tell me that it's true

NP: iPod as personal radio station (right now, Pet Shop Boys - Love Comes Quickly)

Friday at last, this week felt like it would never end.

Had dinner with my mom last night, it was nice. Had a super creepy waiter, though, he was one of those "crouch down and bother the hell out of you types". He also kept blinking a disproportionate amount of times.

(The Cure - More Than This)

I discovered the other day that a coworker shares my odd love of Heath bars. A very underrated candy bar, I say. Anyway, he apparently has a stock of them at his desk and gave me one this morning for no real reason at all. Not that I mind, I was getting hungry.

(Crowded House - It's Only Natural)

Meeting Erin for dinner at IHOP (I keep wanting to write it iHop, like it's a combinatin pancake house/mp3 player or something) tonight, we may rent a movie or something afterwards. Heading down to Cape G tomorrow afternoon, gonna stop by my sister's for a little bit and then hang out with Ryan S. Should be a groovy day, it's supposed to be almost summer warm so the drive will be enjoyable. At least as enjoyable as the rather boring St. Louis-Cape route on I-55 can be.

(New Radicals - Mother We Just Can't Get Enough)

It's shaping up to be a boring day at work. The lab is emptier than it's been all week, I think some people are taking vacation days today for a long weekend. Anyway, my motivation level is low, since my project is probably on its way to getting cancelled. Not that it's my fault, I just do the tasks I'm asked to, but you know.

(They Might Be Giants - Man, It's So Loud In Here)

I'm hoping my copy of "Marbles" comes today. It likely won't, though, I'm not even sure it's shipped yet, even though it was supposed to have gone out two weeks ago. Perhaps it actually did ship, although with this being tax season (along with Racket's usual tortugan* shipping pace) I'm not terribly hopeful for its arrival. For anything else I wouldn't care, but for the amount of money I paid for this pre-order, I kind of expect 'em to follow through on their promise to send 'em out a month ahead of the official shop release date. Oh well. I'd like to think I'm pretty good at waiting.

* may not be actual word. I was going for 'tortugan: of or having the qualities of a tortoise'.

then / now