in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-22-02 // 8.52 am

time on my hands could be time spent with you

I've got a bit of a scratchy throat this morning. I looked in the mirror after I showered and the back of my throat is kind of red and swollen. This sort of thing happens in the spring and fall, though. It's the constantly shifting weather patterns that do it. Temperatures drop 20 or 30 degrees in one afternoon, the weather goes from sunny to rainy back to sunny again, the air pressure is always doing this roller coaster sort of thing. I'll be fine in a day or so, but for now it's kind of crappy. I'm armed with a fresh packet of Halls so I can make it through today. It's really not that uncomfortable, really, but I like the numbing effect. No use suffering through things, you know?

Driving in to work this morning, I could see this one huge cloud. The sky is currently full of those sorts of thick, puffy, black clouds that are remnants of storm systems. Anyway, this one cloud, it was amazingly long, just seemed to stretch from the western horizon for miles without being broken. About halfway to work, I looked up to find myself directly underneath it. It was spectacular, like laying underneath some gigantic snake in the sky. Wow.

Spent all day yesterday with Erin. It was one of those days where everything just feels extra right. Things were good, whether it was laying on my bed, messing with the guitar and watching the rain come down in sheets or listening to music, taking a drive to see the Popeye statue and watching the river swirl and flow or eating Chinese takeout and watching a movie. I dunno, it was just an amazing day. Didn't want her to go last night... I say that every night. I can't wait 'til we don't have to worry about things like that anymore. I love her so much.

Right now I'm feeling very blah. My mind is kind of creaking, it's a combination of that Monday morning thing and the fact that I'm not quite up to speed with the whole throat thing. But it's OK, you know? I'm thinking of Erin and that's making me smile. She makes me feel like I could do anything.

Ugh...work. I've gotta run, time for a meeting. Later gators.

then / now