in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

4-29-04 // 8.42 am

islands are mountain tops

NP: Marillion - "Marbles"

Hauled my ass out of bed at 6 o'clock this morning so I could get in to work early, put in my half day and get out as early as possible. Doesn't mean I enjoy being awake that early. Bonus negative points for the birds that decided to start singing at 4.30am...

Last day in my old cube, in my lab, at my old position. Monday I become a tester... It'll be interesting, and honestly I'm going to get a lot out of the experience. But at the same time, I'll miss my lab and my workmates and the little coding clan we've got going on. Anyway, my new cube is actually bigger than the old one, although it's annoyingly set up to where my back is situated to the cube's opening. I hate that. Especially when I have headphones on -- I don't like the feeling of being snuck up on. I actually lobbied my new manager (who was my old manager once upon a time) to put me in a different, forward-facing cube, but he was adamant about me going in the main test lab, he wanted me near the guy who's going to be 'mentoring' me. So it was written, so it shall be.

Ah, currry. Rogan josh in, rogan josh out. But it was worth it. Especially with a big, fresh nan, a bowl of raita, and a large bottle of beer (still only Taj -- why doesn't Cobra exist in the USofA?). Is this not happiness?

Had a good visit with J.R. and Ryan S, played some cards, no big whoop. Once they left, I spent the rest of the evening messing around online and packing a duffel bag for the weekend.

I have to swing by a store on the way home and get a new tie to go with the new dress shirt I bought to wear tomorrow.

Last but not least, my googlism. I've become obsessed with this thing lately, it possesses the same weird, slightly surreal charm as the revered Blue Lanugo:

echoman is right
echoman is the last of his kind
echoman is the last person alive

then / now