in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-2-02 // 11.21 am

eyes on horizon, don't sleep at the wheel

I'm now in my new single cube here at work. It's a bit cool, I have more privacy, a file cabinet, this weird plastic "in/out" document tray thing, and a whiteboard. I brought in some pictures to decorate, too. All is well.

I've drank a lot of coffee this morning...I think my empty stomach is starting to protest. It's odd, I really don't even need all this caffeine...I was tired this morning but not as bad as I've been in the past. I guess coffee just sounded good.

The (mostly British) people on the Marillion mailing list are currently filling my inbox with a discussion of weird, gross British sandwiches. That's something I forgot about my time in the UK...Brits will seemingly put anything between two slices of bread. And don't get me started on those weird sandwiches they sell at gas stations. I saw 'em in little coolers at places like Boots (drugstore chain), too. They're like half of a sandwich, filled with odd things like a fried egg or monkey meat (probably) encased in this weird, triangular prism-shaped plastic coffin. I'm pretty sure some of 'em have been sitting on the shelf for decades. They look like artifacts, not lunch. Those things always reminds me of that Douglas Adams bit where he's talking about the British eating pub sandwiches on weekends to atone for national sins.

Last night was really strange, weather wise. It was like everything was enveloped in this haze, the air was still and incredibly thick. It rained some once the sun went down...driving around at night felt like being in a movie or on an alien planet. The lights of the city just seemed to shoot up to the sky then get reflected right back down. There was this unearthly pink-orange glow everywhere. I think a cold front roared through around midnight...as I was driving home everything felt refreshingly cool and clear.

I lost at mini-golf. Erin totally kicked my ass. Though I suspect she had the home course advantage. I'm defenseless against loop-the-loops and big concrete lions.

I think I may be getting a new car soon. Since flying cars *still* haven't been invented (someone really should get on that, pronto) I'm looking at a Focus, those are nice. Depends on the kind of deal I can get, I think.

Erin's coming out to see me tonight, I can't wait. I wish there was a way to hit fast-forward on my life so I could get through work and my evening commute so it would be time to see her again.

Now I'd better get back to work. Ick.

then / now