in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-2-01 // 11.18 pm

falling down the mountainside with you

NP: David Gray - "Lost Songs"

I'm rather annoyed. And sad. Circumstance has never been nice to me. I guess instead now I'll sleep through my week off.

I finished the auto-backup routine for software engineering. Finally. I'm so sick of coding, so sick of these impossible deadlines. Yeah, I know what you're thinking -- "that's what the real world is!" Well yeah, but it's not that bad. There I only have one job. At uni, it's like I have seven. I so can't wait to graduate. Come on December.

Oh, and earlier today I bought tickets to see Doves when they come to St. Louis in late June. Though it's at the Galaxy, which is far less than optimal....that's one of the worst laid-out venues I've ever been to. Apparently back in the day, the stage used to be situated at the far end of the main room, where it would make sense. But now it's on the side of that same room, so people can't go very deeply back from the stage, so instead they have to spread across a huge lateral area. Plus there are support posts scattered about that get in the way of seeing the stage. So yeah, I'm wishing it was at Mississippi Nights instead. The place is smaller than a breadbox, but at least the sight lines are excellent. But anyway, it's all good. I'm still getting to see Doves for only $11.

How do you make god laugh?
Make a plan.

then / now