in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-4-01 // 12.07 am

this here is the place where I will stand

NP: R.E.M. - "Automatic for the People"

I was talking with Steve the other day, and we realized that this album is nearly ten years old. I can't believe I've been listening to it for almost a decade. Wow. And with every year, it just seems to get even more beautiful. For my money, you can't beat the one-two finale of "Nightswimming" and "Find the River".

I took care of even more of my end-of-semester assignments. All that's left now (besides the actual final exams) is to write that five page paper for my math class & to do the take-home portion of my Australian Culture final. I'm so seriously worn out, this week has been so hectic. I've barely had time to eat, it's been that bad. So yeah, I need to get some sleep this weekend. I have to.

This evening, around five o'clock, I just couldn't stand it anymore. ('it' being sitting around in my apartment doing schoolwork) So I grabbed my tape of "Radiation", got in the car, and just drove. After lots of singing along to the tape at the top of my lungs, I ended up at the mall...I received a mall gift certificate for my birthday, so I went to the Chinese restaurant in the food court-ish area. I had me some sweet & sour chicken, noodles & crab rangoon. And it was good. With the change from the gift cert., I went across the street to Barnes & Noble & bought that spiffy Q "100 Greatest Album Covers of All Time" book they recently came out with. It's absolutely gorgeous...though I haven't had time to read it tonight, too busy.

I'm waiting for a cloudy day & a thunderstorm.

then / now