in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-6-02 // 12.03 pm

a higher vibration you will climb

I just sat through some excruciating corporate propaganda meeting. Apparently there's a drive going for employees to buy savings bonds. So we're being told to "support our country" and "help the corporation" (since when does a multibillion dollar a year corporation need my help?), all with lots of American flags and whatnot. It's a bit much. I don't think my manager was too happy when me and another coworker mentioned that the whole "it looks really good to the government come contract time when they see we've bought these bonds" plan sounded remarkably like extortion. Oh, and I also laughed at the line "you won't notice the money taken out of your paycheck, because the money is deducted before your check even arrives." No, I think I'd still notice it missing. Sorry to go on and on about this but it was both amusing and annoying.

It's a dreary, rainy day...the kind of day where I'd have loved to stay in bed all morning with a cup of coffee and a book. There really should be some sort of leave allowance for days like this. You know, how you can mark on your timesheet "sick day" or "vacation day". There needs to be a "too wet and gross to get up, lay in bed all day in your pajamas" code or check box. That would be fantastic.

Work is work. I'm here, and I'm getting things done, but yeah. I'd rather not be here. I'd rather be with Erin, wandering through Forest Park on a sunny afternoon. Right now I just want to lay down on a grassy hill and wrap my arms around her. I know we were together all weekend, and I know I'll see her again tonight. But still, I miss her...

At least this day is already half over. I hope time doesn't grind to a halt this afternoon.

then / now