in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-7-02 // 10.14 am

spins a web, any size

This morning felt like a carbon copy of yesterday morning. It was gray, humid, and raining outside. I woke up, on my own, about five minutes before my alarm would have gone off. Only my clock was flashing twelve o'clock. The power got knocked out again. It's like something out of "Groundhog Day".

For the first few hours of my working day, there was nobody else in the lab. It was just me and the whirring of the servers over by the door. It felt like it was a vacation day or something, except nobody told me about it.

Last night was beautiful. Snow cones and the glow of Nintendo on the TV screen...minidisc mixes and driving in the dark. It was one of those nights where time just seems to slow down.

Waking up without her is incredibly difficult. I can feel the space where she belongs, that crescent-shaped area that she fits up against perfectly. I'm not sure which is tougher, honestly, not having her there in the morning or having to say goodbye at night. Those take every ounce of willpower I can summon. At some point, I have to unwrap my arms from around her and get in the car to drive home, even though I don't want to. Even though she doesn't want me to.

Assuming Ryan calls me back on his lunch hour, tonight Erin and I are going to meet up with him to see Spider-Man. Rock.

Now I have to do some work. Later, gators.

then / now