in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-7-04 // 12.49 pm

alpha step, omega step

NP: Kanye West - "The College Dropout"

Gotta be quick...

So fucking glad it's Friday. Enough said.

New position at work is mostly cool, the work will be interesting (especially the automation aspect of it) and I think having worked the programming side of coin, so to speak, for a while gives me significant advantage in doing testing. I still wish I didn't have to work under my old-new manager, and my new cube is still annoyingly situated, although its large size is nice. Window in my new office space -- good thing. The fact that I share the office with mostly middle aged men with no concept of voice modulation -- bad thing. Seriously dudes, you don't have to bellow all the damn time.

Did I mention I'm happy it's Friday?

My sister graduates from college next weekend, and this weekend she's moving her stuff up from Cape to her new apartment St. Louis. I got roped in to helping them unload stuff once they get up here, so there goes my Saturday afternoon. Sunday afternoon is Mother's Day -- going to a chicken dinner thing with my family for that. So much family stuff lately, especially since next weekend is the actual graduation. But oh well.

I have been a booking machine today. Bought tickets for Rush in Nashville -- I'm taking my 17 year old cousin Alex. I talked to him a few weeks back, and apparently since the last time we saw each other, he's gotten into the band in a major way (and this is totally without any sort of influence on my part, amazingly enough). There's a St. Louis date, natch, but there's only this really small window of time where he can make it (he's on tour with his high school band for part of the summer, and at Boys Town or something the rest of the time), and Nashville was the closest place in that time frame. In any case, hooray for concerts, road trips, and the continued time-honored tradition of 16/17 year old boys getting into Rush. It happened with me at precisely that age. Anyway, I also booked a motel for the trip. I also grabbed Cardinals tickets for Erin and myself for next Friday night. Word to the Cards.

Now it's time to dig something up for a light lunch and pray that the afternoon moves faster than the morning did.

then / now