in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-8-02 // 7.05 pm

if I could, I would

It's humid as a rainforest this evening. I was sitting around in my boxer shorts, but I couldn't stand the way the air in my room was hanging as heavy as a wet sheet draped over my entire body. So I took a walk, and when I got just far enough to make it a hassle to turn back, it started to rain. By the time I got back to my street, the rain had stopped and the sun started to come out.

I keep trying to buy Cards tickets online, but the site's server keeps throwing a fit every time I try to select my seats.

I was supposed to see my grandparents this evening, but those plans got cancelled at the last minute. Things came up with both sets, on the exact same day...which I find extremely funny, considering my grandparents are retired and don't really ever have plans.

My brand new baby cousin, born three months premature, is having complications with his heart, his lungs, and his brain. There's going to be testing tomorrow, then he may have to undergo yet more surgery in the next day or so. It seems like it's day to day whether not he'll be alright. I'd be really hard for me to accept things if he isn't.

I'm tired. My drive home was snarled with delivery trucks and teenagers driving SUVs. Work either gives me too much or too little to do. I shouldn't complain, because more often than not, it feels like they're paying me to do nothing. But, still...

Nah, I'm alright. Very alright, actually. I just need a shower. And a shave. I need to eat dinner, sit down with a book, and rest.

Right now, I wish Erin was here. I want to wrap my arms around her. I want to drive around in my car with her. I want to sit in IHOP, drink coffee, smile and laugh.

It's only one night apart but I miss her like you wouldn't believe.

then / now