in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-9-02 // 2.48 pm

show me, show me, show me how you do that trick

I'm currently in one of those post-meeting, post-lunch, midafternoon states of mind. A nap would be great right about now.

Here at work, I've been dropped from one project completely, and assigned, full time, to another. Apparently there's this project that people at the Virginia office have been working on for months, but they haven't been making that much progress, and they've been draining the allocated funding. So they've shifted the focus out here, and I get to work on it. Joy. At first, it was actually a bit flattering...you know, that they thought I have the skills to take care of this thing, etc. Though after a while, they told me that they moved the project out here because they're running out of money and I'm a "low cost alternative". Yeah, they want me because I'm cheap. I should open up "Mike's House of Discount Database Design". It could be in some seedy inner city row of shops, next to a dry cleaner's and a Chinese restaurant, and I could advertise on city buses.

This has been going on for years and years, but I noticed earlier that people keep turning nouns into verbs. This afternoon, someone in my office said "snapshotted". Yeah.

I bought tickets this morning to the Cards game. One for me, one for Erin, and one for Ryan. Didn't get one for his girlfriend, as she never comes out with us on weekdays. She barely comes out with us at all. Or with Ryan, for that matter. So, having agreed the other night on getting three tickets, that's what I bought today. No sooner do I place the order does Ryan call me asking if I could get a ticket for his girlfriend. I was like, "no, I just placed the order". But I'd already told him what section we were sitting in, so he called the ticket office and got another ticket for her, right there next to ours. My gripe is that I just know the two of them are going to argue and bitch the whole evening. They always seem to, these days. I want this to be a relaxing, really fun night for Erin and I. If they decide to mess things up by being shouty and everything...well, they're going to have to take it elsewhere. I dunno, I shouldn't be so angry about this, but I am.

Less than two hours until I can get out of here. I keep watching the clock and calculating how many hours are left before I see Erin tonight. I miss her like a drowning man misses oxygen.

Come on clock, move faster.

then / now