in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-19-03 // 2.49 pm

the lights are out baby and I'm a mouse

Yes, another entry, some four hours after the last one! Excited, dear readers?

(NP: Mark Knopfler - Silvertown Blues)

I feel somewhat guilty for slacking off this afternoon. I haven't been doing much of anything since lunchtime, to be completely honest. I've rationalized it to myself by saying that the guy I need to talk to about my two outstanding issues isn't here today. Guilt, guilt, guilt, nonetheless.

(Blue Nile - Headlights On The Parade)

A few movies I like but everyone else I've ever met seems to hate:

"The Thin Red Line" -- For my money, a better war film than "Saving Private Ryan". The latter was undoubtedly great, but I always thought it had ambitions towards being an action flick, where as "The Thin Red Line" was surreal and existential, thoughtful and desperate.

Hrm. I'm actually drawing a blank as to others at the moment. But there are more, rest assured.

(Live - Pillar Of Davidson)

I've never liked the dawn. My circadian rhythm is very strange in that it more or less won't let me sleep once it's become light outside. That's the reason that as an adolescent all night lock-ins always fucked with me for several days afterwards, and that as a college student I would work double time during the day to avoid having to pull an all nighter. I'm just not a no sleep at all type of guy. The upshoot of all of this is that I find dawn, which I should find gorgeous and affirming, as a sign that I'm up far too late and that I'm going to be tired and out of it for the next day and change.

Random thought: junior high school graduations are amusing, high school graduations are dumb, and college graduations just feel anticlimactic, like the real graduation was the hell of finals you just went through for the last time.

(Matt Good - Bright End Of Nowhere)

A great blog to read if you're going to read a blog is hello laowai hello. Wayne is a great observer, and I like the mixture of personal diary type writing and more blog-ish news and economic analysis. That's all, just thought I'd mention it.

(Phil Campbell - Keep It Calm)

There was a period of my life, from maybe about age 15 to age 19 or 20 that I lost interest in sports. Which is strange, considering that I grew up following local teams, especially the Cardinals. Perhaps it was some sort of subconscious teenage rejection of my past, I'm not really sure. However, I've noted that now, at age 23, I'm as big a follower of sports as I ever was. I'm never going to be a hardcore, face painting, stat memorizing type fan, but I find myself watching the Cards when they're on more often than not, and berating the Rams on fall Sundays is a savored tradition (both when hanging out with Ryan S, and with Erin over at her grandparents' house). Even the Blues, the most clueless playoff team in hockey, get the treatment, though my interest usually peaks in the three month period between football and baseball seasons.

(Electronic - Tighten Up)

It's probably a dead tie between Bernard Sumner and Francis Dunnery in the contest for "best weird singing accent". Sumner's got that sort of slurry Mancunian drawl, and Dunnery has whatever happens to a Cumbrian twang when you move to a farm in New England.

I think my turntable needs a new cartridge. I was listening to a few records over the weekend and they didn't sound nearly as sharp as they should've. There's a very distinct degradation in sound quality that occurs when a needles passes that point of no return.

(ABC - Valentine's Day)

This song reminds me that my karaoke standard in college was The Look Of Love. I wouldn't mind doing a karaoke pubcrawl some night. I'd have to do some research first, though, as I have no clue as to where and when bars in my neighborhood have karaoke nights.

(Sarah McLachlan - Wait)

In my late morning, useless as hell meeting, my boss actually used the non-word "mandation". I think the word he was looking for is "mandate". I hope.

OK, I've been enlisted to get some stuff done and out for review, so this rather enjoyable stream of consciousness post must come to an end.

then / now