in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-20-03 // 9.38 am

advice from the tastless to the bland

NP: Kevin Gilbert - "The Shaming Of The True"

Any positive mood that a fairly full night's sleep instilled in me was wiped clear away when I got on the interstate exit ramp, only to be met by an unmoving mass of cars as far as I could see in either direction. I turned on the radio and the traffic report said that a tractor trailer had overturned and gone over the median barrier at Hampton and that the two leftmost lanes in each direction were closed. So, as a result, it took me about half an hour to go two miles.

I finally made it to work, but as per usual, about three or four people are pulling me in different directions, trying to get me to do something for them. My allergies are making me feel tired and light headed, and it just feels like no matter how much work I do on this project on any given day, we don't make any true progress. I definitely do not feel like being at this place dealing with these people. Fuck.

But I do have a plan. Work as much overtime as I can stand the first four days of this week, then leave early on Friday for a three and a half day or so weekend. Hopefully said plan pans out.

Now I have to get back to work. Oh joy.

then / now