in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-23-04 // 4.39 pm

preachy tortoise delphic

Crocodile Dundee is talking down a suicide jumper. This is his second adventure. That's all I know about what's going on right now, although it is being brought to me by WGN Superstation.

Erin called at like quarter after one last night to say that they made it to Alabama OK. I was half asleep as I talked, but it was good to hear her voice before I drifted back off to sleep.

Ahhh. I slept in this morning (well, at least for as much as I ever sleep in) & didn't do much of anything until after noon. Took a long walk, hoping that a spot storm wouldn't catch me out. Now it's a cloudy, humid Sunday afternoon. I just got back from messing around down on south Grand. I had a well-deserved bite at Pho Grand. Ga xao xa ot and a bottle of Saigon -- perfect. On a slight beer buzz/spicy food induced endorphin high I wandered up to a bookshop and picked up Paul Theroux's "Kingdom by the Sea". Did some more walking & headed back to the car but not before grabbing some curry supplies and a big jar of chili sauce from the import market.

Now I'm just chilling out, doing nothing in particular, which I think is just about right for a Sunday afternoon. Back to work tomorrow, but the fact that I only have to go in Monday & Tuesday this week makes me almost eager to go in to get it done with.

then / now