in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-27-01 // 12.45 am

I don't mind if it's only a passing craze

NP: Roxy Music - "Country Life"

Do you ever get the feeling that Bryan Ferry was like the Jarvis Cocker experimental prototype? It's like the scientists said 'it's almost complete...but it needs to sing more about social class and dirty sex.' Thus Jarvis was born.

Ads I never want to see on TV ever again in my entire life: (a) anything even remotely related to 'feminine itching', and (b) those herpes drug ads featuring the really happy people and weird new age music.

This afternoon on the miniature golf course, the hole that was my undoing: the anthill. I hate the anthill with a passion.

Earlier this evening, I went out for a walk. I took my usual route, but in reverse. And to be honest, it wasn't nearly as satisfying that way.

I hope that in a few years, we'll be far enough removed from the early '90s music scene so smarmy pop groups of the day can do 'ironic' covers of alt. rock tunes. When I'm older & I hear a ska or whatever version of a Nirvana song, I will laugh my ass off.

then / now