in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-28-01 // 11.00 pm

silly human race

NP: Yes - "The Yes Album"

Barbecued today for Memorial Day. Sunshine + bratwurst + lager + wiffle ball = one hell of a way to spend a day off work.

I keep wondering how much longer this beautiful weather's going to last. It's nearly June now, and I can't believe we haven't had to suffer through much of the typical heat & humidity that midwestern summers are known for. Granted, it's technically not summer for a while yet. So I may as well just stop wondering about it all and just enjoy sleeping with the windows open while I can.

Tonight I watched part one of "Egypt: Beyond the Pyramids" on the History channel. It was totally captivating...in this installment they went into the excavation of KV5, which is a long-lost royal burial site in the Valley of the Kings. It's basically a massive, elaborate series of chambers and hallways, all thought to be the site of the burials of the many sons of Ramses II. Earlier archaeologists thought something might be there, but during Carter's excavation of Tutankhamun's tomb, all the rubble from that was thrown over KV5, obscuring it for another 75 years. I was especially intrigued by this special, as I'm pretty sure we didn't talk much about KV5 in the Ancient Egypt course I took a few years back. So it's all basically news to me.

Lately I've been taking such pleasure in simple things. I need to strive to always be like this.

then / now