in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

5-31-02 // 8.43 am

these barricades can only hold for so long

I have an extra-strength desire to not be at work today. I mean, I don't want to be here at all. Not even a little bit. I want to leave. I want it to be five o'clock now. And to top it all off, there's yet another going away luncheon this afternoon. These things take forever, they're boring, and they're always held at the exact same dodgy chain Mexican restaurant. Ugh.

I took a few hours off work yesterday afternoon to head over to the apartment offices to do application type stuff. So I drove over to ghettofied South County, in the heat of the afternoon, finally finding the office in some sub-dirt minimall. The doors were locked. Nobody was inside. The lights were on, but there weren't any workers. I tried calling the phone number on the front of the building, but I got voice mail. I sat outside that place for two hours, in my work clothes, getting all sweaty and gross, attempting to pass the time by listening to bad drive-time radio and playing "snake" on my cell phone. So yeah, nobody ever showed up at the office. Well, other people also needing to do apartment-y stuff came by, but no actual employees. So yeah... This is all particularly annoying considering I called ahead on Wednesday and specifically asked "if I come by at 3.30 on Thursday, will someone be here to help me". They said of course, come on down, we're here 'til 5 o'clock every day, no need to make an appointment. Grrr. Double grrr. I was livid by about 5.15 yesterday afternoon. I have to call 'em again later this morning to try to set something up for Saturday...and I have to be nice, even though dealing with these people makes me want to tear my own hair out. *sigh* I just want to get this taken care of so Erin and I can get around to the business of the act of moving.

Wow, I'm being really bitchy this morning. Hrm...must calm down and not shout at brain-dead apartment people.This apartment is too perfect for me to go ruin everything like that.

Meow-meow is just fine after his operation...he was actually all frantic and hyper when we picked him up from the vet. I expected him to just sleep off the anaesthetic. Though he did calm down later in the evening...after continuously begging for bits of my sandwich. Cats are so funny and cool...except when they bite you.

Erin is beautiful. Amazingly so. She never believes me when I say so, but it's completely true.

then / now