in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-6-03 // 5.58 pm

as the mercury rises there's still some surprises

NP: Spock's Beard - "Day For Night"

My god am I exhausted. Work has been eating me alive the past month or so. This past week was just insane. I'd have to say that the worst part is the schedule of my current project. There's the schedule and then there's the "aggressive schedule". The project manager, and even my tech lead once in a while, exerts pressure to get things done way ahead of time. Which is a good idea, at least in theory. However, in practice, I've found that the primary result of this management tactic is less attention to detail in the work. Sure, you may rush the engineer to come in ahead of schedule, but there's the chance that in the process you have sacrificed some quality or deliberation on approach, or more robust testing. I dunno, it's just been my experience that the "aggressive schedule" usually comes back to bite you in the ass. But whatever. Either way, I'm getting fed up with the whole "work more hours, we've added more requirements, but we won't give you more schedule leeway" thing. Ugh.

So yeah, this afternoon I had a followup optometry appointment. My conjunctivitis is gone, and in also getting a routine exam, I apparently also have 20/20 vision. Cool. I went to the mall in Fairview for a few minutes, played a few video games and walked around for a bit, and then came home to meet my landlord to sign another year's lease. While waiting for her, I did a huge amount of dishes and attempted to clean up this apartment a bit. It was an utter mess. It's still a bit cluttered, but before it was terrible. No time to clean the last couple of weeks, so it all piled up. Double ugh.

Hopefully my tech lead doesn't call me tomorrow trying to get me to come in to work. Work on Saturday always feels like the ultimate insult. I usually work my ass off Monday through Friday so I'll be clear by the time the weekend arrives. A Saturday at the office is just a slap in the face to that. Yeah, yeah, I know, that's life, boo hoo. But still, I'm overworked and need time to regroup.

Ryan S will probably come over tomorrow evening for video games and general hanging out. Erin said she was going to cook chicken parmesan, as well. Which is way cool.

*decompression noise*

I'm starving. Must find something to eat.

Tonight I will need a beer. Or six.

then / now