in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-7-02 // 11.00 am

my 3-d glasses helped images soar

I got a call yesterday, just before lunch, saying that our application for the apartment was accepted. My heart skipped a beat...I couldn't believe it. We got it, the exact place we were after. We can't move in this weekend like we'd hoped, but the lease gets signed and the keys get handed over on Monday night. Going to move things into the apartment here and there next week...looking at a proper move in on Thursday. I can't wait...I'm just so happy.

Last night was perfect. I wanted to be able to bottle it up, keep it, save it in some new medium that's a combination of photography and atmosphere. The thing is, I won't forget it, not as long as I live. The huge, red sun sinking to the horizion; wandering around Schnucks; fountains changing color from blue to orange to vanilla white; driving home, talking about who we are and where we are, realizing that everything is falling into place; making wishes, not because we need them to come true, but just because it couldn't be a bad thing to do so. I'll remember the way her hair looked, kind of messy, yet still in order and framing her face in the most magnificent way. I'll remember that her eyes were extraordinarily deep and shining...the sharpest blue-gray I've ever seen. I'll remember looking over at the rooftops for a few minutes, then turning around, back to her, and seeing her flash me the most insides-melting little smile. I'll remember laying on the couch, with barely a hint of light anywhere, under the blanket, with our arms around each other. It was certainly not the first, nor will it be the last time we laid like that, but it felt immesurably right. But it always does...and every time I hold her in my arms, it feels even more right than the time before.

I have to get back to work now, sadly, but I just wanted to say those things while I had a moment to spare.

then / now