in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-10-02 // 10.38 am

life intimidates art

I'm in a great mood this morning, which is a bit odd, considering it's Monday and that this weekend was really, really good. I'm not sure what the deal is, honestly. Maybe it's the weather...it's cloudy and muted out there at the moment. Which is refreshing...95 percent of the time, a midwestern summer day is steamy, glary, and just like the one before it. Plus, I just like clouds sometimes.

Work is doing that thing where I've been given my assignment, and it's a fair amount of stuff to do, but there isn't a ridiculously short deadline hanging over my head. Which is good, as those sorts of things tend to make me a bit manic. Especially on days like today, where useless meetings seem to preempt getting into any sort of proper work groove.

I've had a couple of cups of coffee so far this morning, which really, I didn't need. I mean, I wasn't particularly tired when I got to the office. So as a result, I'm kind of wired at the moment. Which is sort of cool to be feeling at work...usually I only get like this after drinking a bunch of coffee on a weekend morning, after waking up from like a million hours of sleep.

Signing the lease and getting the keys to the apartment tonight. Erin and I are going to be gradually moving things into the place over the next few days. I'm moving my furniture and any remaining essential items on Thursday, that's the first night we'll be sleeping there. So, yeah...it'll be a bit of work. I absolutely hate moving, for several reasons: I had to do it several times a year for like four and a half years at college, plus, I have a ton of junk. But it'll be over soon enough, and well worth it. I just can't wait to be settled in, to start decorating and getting things set up how we want them, to not be rushing around so much.

"Atomic Twister" + take-out Chinese food (in the little boxes with metal handles) + sitting on the couch in the air conditioned basement + Upwords + larying around with our arms wrapped around each other = a brilliant Sunday. I know I'll see her again tonight, but I wish that right now I could kiss her, then go out for lunch at a cafe or something. Today would be a brilliant day for an afternoon spent talking with her about anything and everything. Though, honestly, every day is a good day for that with Erin.

Oh, and before I'm outta here, can I mention that I'd forgotten how much I love your ad here? I know it hasn't been regularly updated for ages upon ages, but I was reading a few of the back entries this morning, and it's as insanely hilarious as it ever was. It was my favorite daily read a few summers ago, when I was but a lowly intern. So yeah, go read it now, even if you're not interested in the quirks of advertising and packaging.

then / now