in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-12-02 // 9.24 am

believe me now I'm all over you

About halfway moved in to the new apartment. Well, Erin hasn't brought any of her things over yet, but I think she's taking care of it tonight. My tonight will be spent putting furniture into a moving van, then putting things in boxes, which will, in turn, be put into the moving van. Shouldn't take terribly long, though...I have far too much experience at this sort of thing to not know how to do it efficiently.

I just want it to be over, though. Now. I can't wait till Thursday evening, when the furniture is in place, and we're mostly settled, and we can stay there. For good. We were going to sleep there last night, on the floor, in sleeping bags zipped together, but I didn't have shoes and some other things I needed for work the next day. It would've been great, I didn't feel like leaving at all.

My mom called yesterday morning and told me that my grandpa had been admitted to the hospital overnight. Apparently he'd been cold and clammy, and just generally unwell. They ran some tests and think that he may have had a mild heart attack. But they're not sure...hopefully we know more today. Either way, he's in fantastic shape, and he's doing just fine, so barring anything unforseen, he'll probably get to go home tomorrow. Which is good...I went to visit him yesterday and he was in his usual spirits, ready to get out of that bed and get back to getting their house ready for the move they've been in the middle of the past few weeks.

There's been tons of family things going on this month. I mean, I love my family, but it's just been all at once it seems. Last weekend it was my mom's side, with relatives in from out of town, dinners and gatherings. This Saturday it's this 50th anniversary thing for my dad's parents...have to drive like two hours to get there. Erin has been as understanding and patient as any person could be. Seriously. She's absolutely incredible. But all of the hassle and rushing around will be over soon, and the weekends and everything else will be ours again.

Yesterday it was hot. No, this isn't my usual heat related complaining, yesterday's weather was miserable. Think of 95 degree heat. Then add tons of humidity. Then, with your windows down, go drive around a sprawling city that's all asphalt and choking auto traffic. Yeah. About two or three o'clock, Erin and I were about ready to evaporate. Venturing back out and away from air conditioning did not seem like a viable option.

A few hours later, it got all cloudy, then all black and ominous. I was at the grocery store getting supplies, and when I came out to go back to my car, it started to pour. Absolutely pissing down. Did that off and on for most of the night. Erin and I sat in our still furniture-less living room, in front of the huge windows that look east, with the lights off, and we watched the storms roll over us, watched the lightning jump from cloud to cloud. The only illumination was the flickering lightning, coupled with that pink glow the city sky gets on rainy nights. It was brilliant. And it was amazing being there with Erin, in our new home.

I'm getting into the habit of referring to it as "home" and not "the apartment". Because it is our new home. I was sitting on the floor yesterday, with my back against the wall, and my arm around Erin's shoulders, imagining how the place will look once we get it exactly how we want it. It makes me happy. She makes me happy. Right now, at this particular moment (well, for the past three and a half months, really), I'm happier than I think I've ever been in my entire life.

then / now