in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-18-04 // 3.33 pm

cyprus mulch 9307 mastadons

Paid property taxes this morning, which was as much fun as it sounds. Nothing's more wonderful to deal with than surly bureaucrats slightly before 8 o'clock in the morning. Didn't stop for that coffee, which enabled me to leave work even earlier than I was planning on.

I arrived home just in time, as the once blue skies are now black, filled with huge raindrops, bright bolts of lightning and booming thunder that's setting off car alarms.

I bought a new oscillating fan last night to replace the one we used to death last summer. It's odd, it's all cylindrical and stout, like a baby Dalek or something.

Earlier today I was reading an article which was basically 'where do we stand 30 years on from "The Mythical Man-Month", what's held true and what seems off in the year 2004'. ("Man-Month" is a seminal book on the software engineerng process) It made me want intensely to sit back inf or a short while on that academic environment, discussing theory and whatnot. For the most part, I'd rather be doing and learning by doing instead of focusing on textbooks and theory, that's why I'm much more at home at work than in a classroom. But once in a while I get a tinge of nostalgia for that college learning environment, for blowhard professors and algorithms written on the board in indecipherable script.

The College World Series is on right now, Arizona and Georgia. Good ball, although regardless of how long I live, I will never get used to the sound of a baseball being hit with an aluminum bat. I realize that's what I grew up with, and that's what's used all the way up through the college level. But still, there should be that beautiful 'crack' of leather on wood, not that weird "ping!".

Erin should be home from work soon. We were going to head to the Loop to the Arabic deli, although it may be too wet at the moment. In any case, bring on the weekend.

then / now