in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-21-02 // 3.16 pm

something for the weekend

NP: The Divine Comedy - "Casanova"

A few minutes ago, someone walked into the lab and said to one of the interns:

"do you have squishy balls?"

Apparently referring to the miniature nerf footballs we have lying around the office, for use in occasional afternoon nerf ball wars.

Though you can imagine the roar of laughter that went up...

It's Friday. Finally. I'm so looking forward to just chilling out and hanging around the apartment with Erin. Though it looks like that's been postponed till Sunday morning. Erin got called in to work a half day tomorrow, and I'm going to take care of laundry and general cleaning up and getting boxes put away where they belong. Yeah... But it's alright, we'll still get to sleep in a bit on Saturday.

Show last night. Got to Mississippi Nights about 7.15...tickets said doors were at 7. There was an absolutely massive line on the sidewalk, streching all the way down the street and even a little ways around the corner, down towards the river. Thankfully, someone told us that was the line for people without tickets, hoping to get in at the door. So we made our way to the ticketholders line...it was even bigger. So yeah, we stood in line for probably an hour or so. It was hot and humid, in that particularly St. Louis way...what with the extra humidity the river lends to the already still, hot downtown air. The venue was crisp and cold, though...nicely air conditioned. It was such a relief, even if the place was absolutely packed. I swear they sold more tickets than the venue's capacity. People were packed in like sardines. Anyway, the show. Neil Hannon opened up, and while there were actually a few people in the audience this time who knew who he was, he was still treated fairly rudely by the majority of the audience. Good performance, though...I would've liked to see him have the time to do a full show. Didn't play Becoming More Like Alfie, but he did manage to squeeze in Perfect Lovesong, to the delight of both Erin and myself. Ben Folds kept us waiting, but once he came out, it was great. Something like 25 or 30 songs in a two hour time span, complete with little snippets of other songs, jokes, stories, pauses to take photos of the audience... It was incredible, both in atmosphere and performance. He's easily one of the best performers I've ever seen play...granted it's only been three times so far, but I'd gladly take in every show on this tour. It's that great. Was a bit glad when the show finally ended, though, as Erin had been on her feet all day, and the standing in line and during the performance was really hurting her feet.

Setlist, for other Folds geeks out there:

Zak and Sara
Annie Waits
Eddie Walker
The Last Polka
Philosophy
Chopsticks (Liz Phair)
Still Fighting It
The Luckiest
Emaline
The Ascent of Stan
Alice Childress

"songs that I wrote to get out of my recording contract", including One Down and 3.6 to Go (or whatever it's called) and that song that he wrote in the style of a boy band

Mess
Fred Jones, Part 2
Army
Where's Summer B?
Narcolepsy
Not the Same
Kate
Rockin' the Suburbs
One Angry Dwarf and 200 Solemn Faces

**encore**
Evaporated
Tiny Dancer (Elton John)
Song for the Dumped ("sad, minor key version")

I slept like a rock last night. It was probably the first truly sound sleep I've had since we moved in. I mean, it's only been a week, but yeah. I chalk it up to the fact that I never sleep well right away in a new environment. I have to get acclimated. I think that now I am. Mmm. Last night, after the show, once Erin and I got home...it was perfect just falling into bed with her, wrapping our arms around each other and drifting off. If I was allowed to relive, on command, one moment or occurence in my life, I think it would be those moments where we're laying there curled up together. It just seems like there aren't any other cares in the world, like all that matters is me and her.

She's what matters most to me. I hope as hard as I can hope that I let her know that as often as possible. Because it's so true.

then / now