in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

6-24-02 // 9.02 am

reading faces and trusting eyes

NP: Wayne - "Music on Plastic"

It's one of those Monday mornings where I'm just reacclimating myself to being at work. Not much going on...it's kind of this gradual submersion thing. No alarms and no surprises.

Erin and I bought a betta fish the other night. His name is Frankie (after Sinatra, natch) and he lives in a big bowl on top of the entertainment center. It's cool and calming and shimmery. Though once in a while, he swims in part of the bowl that magnifies him to like 10 times his normal size, and it's kind of creepy.

Summer is in full swing. It's good for the fact that it stays light till like 9 or 9.30 at night, but otherwise...the days are glary and oppressive, humid and stifling. The past week or so, I've been hoping for just one cloudy, rainy day. It's very much needed at this point, I think.

The weekend went by far too quickly. It was a fantastically fun couple of days, but last night, around 11 o'clock, Erin and I remarked that it seemed like it was just Friday night. Sigh... I don't like getting up super early, I don't like having to rush around, or drive through traffic to work. I want to stay in bed, wrap my arms around Erin, stay there and be warm, cozy, and happy.

then / now