in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-12-02 // 10.56 am

a world of illusion, but baby you're true

NP: New Radicals - "Maybe You've Been Brainwashed Too"

It's (relatively) cool and rainy and cloudy out at the moment. It was actually pouring down when I popped outside a little while ago. Actual rain. It's amazing, I feel like I haven't seen it in months.

It'd be a perfect day, one meant for sitting around in cafes and taking the chance afforded by the rare lack of sun to walk around outside (dodging raindrops, of course). But sadly, I'm at work. And I'm wearing a dress shirt and a tie due to some visiting big cheese or another. Friday is normally casual day, and instead I'm currently at the opposite end of the work-appropriateness spectrum. Also, when I got in this morning, there was an email from some guy in payroll saying that paychecks with serial numbers within a certain range may have errors on them. Namely that they accidentally weren't signed. Great. And of course, mine is one of them. The guy said to print out the email as proof that the check can, in fact, be cashed, plus there's a number to call if there's problems, but yeah. I just hope the bank doesn't hassle me too much about this. There's also this all-hands meeting later where we'll be introduced, project group-by-group to the previously mentioned big cheese. Wonderful.

Yesterday Erin was sick, and since the deadline on my project has been pushed back a bit, I just took the day off to stay home and take care of her. So yeah, she felt pretty terrible yesterday. Can you believe that she works for a hospital and they don't even give her sick days? My stomach's been feeling a bit iffy since yesterday afternoon, too. Nothing serious, but I get a bit indigestion-y here and there. Oh, and this morning, when we went out to leave for work, we discovered that Erin's car had a flat tire. So I drove her to work and I'll pick her up this evening. It's just been one of those working weeks, I think, for both of us, just in general, you know? I think tonight we're going to combat the ickiness of the working week by watching the South Park movie and drinking.

Digital cable is good for watching and snarkily commenting on live-action Disney Channel movies. We discovered this last night, it's brilliant.

The server that we do most of our development on has just decided to stop working for no discernable reason. Well, the thing is still up, but any attempt to do anything (it won't even let us list the contents of a directory!) is met by an outpouring of errors. Yeah, this is one of those days.

But you know, I don't care. Nothing's getting to me today, because before I know it, I'll be out of here, I'll be able to undo this tie around my neck, roll up my sleeves, and head home. I'll pick up Erin, I'll give her a kiss, we'll put on comfortable clothes, and just be together. I don't know about you, but that's all I need to forget anything bad.

then / now