in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-12-04 // 10.33 am

they're already here...

NP: iPod stuff. TMBG right now.

It's blissfully quiet in the office this morning. I don't know why the usual bellowing isn't taking place, just that I'm enjoying the fact that it isn't.

I'm still not used to driving everywhere in silence. I can't even listen to news radio. I caught myself singing "Send in the Clowns" to myself this morning. What?

Went to Blueberry Hill last night for Steve Burns. Met up with Steve and Sarah for a drink and a bite pre-show. I'd forgotten that not only does it take ages for them to cook a burger, nothing comes with sides. Oh well. Made it downstairs for the show, Marc and a few of his friends (whose names I can never remember) kindly saved us seats at a table up front. Local band called Maxtone Four opened the show, they were enjoyable playing the kind of power pop that actually makes me enjoy power pop. Beatle Bob was out en force. The band actually had a song about him, which was really weird. Bob applied one of the band's stickers to his suitcoat. As Steve remarked, he looked kind of like a lost member of the Fantastic Four at that point. After what seemed like forever, Steve Burns came on. The set was short but punchy and wonderfully consistent. Great short films & projected visuals in the background, and having a seat right next to the stage was great, even if it was sort of a side view. I was like two feet away from the drummer/samples guy, the kit didn't need to be miked for me to hear it. So yes, way to go Steve Burns, he really does write some tight songs, and I liked the two man show. He was really amiable and signed autographs/took pictures after the show, Erin got a copy of his album signed. Went with Steve and Sarah to the Denny's on Hampton after the show for a snack, then headed home to sleep since it was past midnight at that point.

Right now I need more caffeine. With luck the rest of the day will be as low key as the first part has been. Fingers crossed.

then / now