in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-25-02 // 1.51 pm

scottish fiction, scottish friction

NP: Idlewild - "The Remote Part"

Yeah, I'm still listening to this. As if their last record wasn't good enough, this one is somehow better. Think I.R.S. years R.E.M. played with the urgency and jagged guitars of punk, but also with mandolins, an agressive string section, literate lyrics, harmonized backing vocals, piano bridges, and a poetry reading. I dunno, it's all a big musical stew...but I do know that this is a great band. By all means, they should be massive, yet they still feel like my own little secret. Oh, plus their singer has the best name ever for a rock vocalist. Roddy Woomble. It's just fun to say.

Last time I called the customer service line for my cell phone service, the lady on the other end was rude, cranky, and a bit confusing. This morning, calling again, I was patched through to a different lady, this time cheerful, concise, and extremely helpful. It just made an entire world of difference. It turned a throroughly cliched modern event such as being put on hold by the phone company into something slightly more human than it usually is. Perhaps I'm making too much out of this, but I'm always pleasantly surprised when other people act with a touch of actual humanity.

Between myself and my project manager, we solved the mysterious problem that was holding up one of the procedures I'm working on. It's good news, considering the bug was starting to drive me crazy, I'd been working on fixing it for what seemed like forever.

Ugh, it seems as though someone's roped me into a peer review in a little while. Which is boring, but it's not like it's any more boring than anything else work-related I've done today.

Sometimes I realize the most I can do for someone is to just be supportive. I'm sure I've mentioned it before, but my personality type is the kind that always wants to help people, to fix problems. Even if it's something that can't be fixed, at least not like one fixes a broken bike. I dunno, I always hope that I do enough for people. I suppose sometimes what someone needs most is a shoulder to cry on, or a set of arms to fall into. Erin's been very stressed-out lately...I really hope that I've been a comforting shoulder, a strong, inviting pair of arms. I hope that I've at least made her feel a little bit better.

Can't wait to be home tonight, to see Erin. We're going to cook this chicken casserole that she has a recipe for, and sit around watching Simpsons videos. I want to curl up next to her and stay there the entire evening. She makes my drive home bearable...instead of getting irate due to gridlocked traffic, I think of her. I think of her smile, I think of her laugh, I think of how looking into her eyes makes me feel like we're communicating telepathically. Soon, before I know it, I'm past the jams and slow-moving ramps, and I'm almost back there. I love unlocking the apartment door and hearing her calling to me from back in the computer room. I love putting my things down, going back there, and giving her the first kiss since saying goodbye in the morning. It's amazing. She's amazing.

Now I have to end this and get ready for that review. At least the day is in the home strech now.

And yeah, go listen to Idlewild.

then / now