in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-29-02 // 8.44 am

'here's a true story', said someone to me yesterday

NP: Manics - "This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours"

Weekend was nice though over far too quickly. It's Monday morning, and I'm kind of tired, a bit worn out. Which is the wrong thing to feel on Monday morning. I mean, you're supposed to feel annoyed and grumbly about having to get up when the alarm goes off, but you're supposed to feel refreshed after two whole days off. Right? All I know is that I could definitely use another day off right now. I feel really bad about the whole thing, actually...on Friday night I promised Erin a completely relaxing weekend. I don't think I quite delivered.

In 'Corporate America has gone too far" news, later this week, I have to attend a meeting about how to have better meetings. Seriously. And managers always wonder why the engineers are slipping on their schedules...

The last couple of days this week, I'm pretty sure it's just going to be like me and one or two other people in this lab. Everyone else is going on vacation or something. But yeah, it's going to be like a ghost town around here. Which is fine by me, I'm usually groaning that things are way too lound around here.

There was an accident on the (already scary and creaky) on-ramp that I take to get on the bridge that in turn, takes me over the river every morning. Backed up traffic for miles, I was not a happy camper. Morning accidents are the worst, because I can never tell if it's actually an accident or just jamming due to heavy traffic. See, afternoon radio is usually filled with helpful road reports. Not morning radio, though. You rarely hear music, let along traffic updates. It's mostly "morning zoo crew" type stuff. In any case, yeah. I was sitting on the interstate for a while this morning, not knowing what was backing things up so far. Not fun. Anyway, enough of my complaining.

Oh man, this is a perfect Monday morning soundtrack. It's like a musical hangover. Well, not a hangover, because that would imply it was unpleasant listening, which it's most definitely not. But it does seem to correspond a bit with that feeling, that sort of tired, kind of hesitant, fuzzy, and wary of heading back out into the world feeling. The cover is nice and desloate, too. Kind of windswept.

Right now I just want to say that there's no better feeling in the world then when Erin smiles at me. That gets me every single time.

then / now